The social network Twitter announced on Tuesday that next month will remove accounts that have not been used in the last half year, to “release” usernames that are currently not available to new users but are barely used.
“As part of our commitment to serve public conversation, we are working to clean up inactive accounts and present more accurate and credible information that people can trust on Twitter,” the San Francisco (California, USA) company said in a statement.
“Part of this effort is to encourage people to actively consult and use Twitter once they have registered an account, as our inactive account policy indicates,” the company said.
Starting this Tuesday and during the next few days, Twitter will contact by email with users who have not accessed the social network for the past six months to alert them that either they connect to Twitter before December 11, or their accounts will be deleted and their username may be “sponsored” by another Internet user.
According to the company, it will not be necessary for these people to share any message on the platform, but it will be enough for them to connect to it, that is to say, access it with their user name and password, in order to prevent its elimination.
As a consequence of this movement, it is foreseeable that a significant number of accounts will be deleted – either because their owners have lost interest in the social network, because they have died or because they use a different account – and therefore those usernames will be available again in the future.
The social network announcement came a day after it was known on Monday that a code error allowed developers of applications downloaded through the Google Play online store to access the personal data of hundreds of Facebook and Twitter users.
The error was in the One Audience software developer “package” and allowed application builders to access user information such as email addresses, usernames and shared content.